The Dirty Duck

17 Reviews

The Dirty Duck is located in Holywood, just outside of Belfast (near train station on the shore side). The Dirty Duck has panoramic views over Belfast Lough. Outside is a beer garden and drinking benches. Very popular and busy so it is best to phone ahead for a booking. There is a quiz on Tuesdays and live music on Thursdays through to Sunday. In 2008 it won best Gastro Pub at The Fate Awards. Menu changes seasonally and uses local fresh products.

Last Updated on 20/07/2011 | Added 08/10/2007 | Edit Details | Edit Picture

The Dirty Duck

Information and Contact Details

Web Site http://www.thedirtyduckalehouse.co.uk/
Category Restaurant
Sit In You can Sit-inYou can Sit-in
Take Away You can not takeaway foodYou can not takeaway food
Deliveries Provides DeliveriesNo home deliveries
Drive - Through There is no drive throughThere is no drive through
Address 2-4 Kinnegar Road
  Holywood
  County Down
  Northern Ireland
  BT18 9JN
Phone Number 028 90596666
Disabled Facilities access to toilet

Street View of The Dirty Duck

Map Showing the Location of The Dirty Duck

Get Directions to The Dirty Duck

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth Map of The Dirty Duck.

Is this the wrong position for The Dirty Duck? If you think so, then modify its position.

Ratings

Various aspects that help rate a venue. Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

Quality of Food

end bar rating of The Dirty Duck end bar 63/100 55 Votes

Value for Money

end bar rating of The Dirty Duck end bar 59/100 55 Votes

Customer Service

end bar rating of The Dirty Duck end bar 34/100 56 Votes

Overall

end bar rating of The Dirty Duck end bar 66/100 53 Votes

Comments and Reviews on The Dirty Duck

There now follows 17 other reviews of The Dirty Duck

On my experience i would not recommend The Dirty Duck as the food and customer service was not of a high standard.

Submitted by jim (comber) on 01/06/2014

I am sorry to say after my and my wife's first visit The Dirty Duck did not live up to our expectations in respect of food quality and satisfaction. The seafood chowder was bland and the burger and the sirloin stake we ordered was not cooked the way it should have been. That's just how we feel about our experience at the Dirty Duck.

Submitted by Mr Fegan on 17/05/2014

had the pleasure of my family taking me to the dirty Duck for my Birthday. IT WAS EXCELLENT! The service, The food, The ambience of the place was great. Well done to the staff.

WILL DEFINITELY RECOMEND IT TO EVERYONE WE KNOW,

Submitted by WILLIAMSON Lisburn on 09/07/2012

Have had many luches in the pub downstairs and lovely evenings in the restaurant upstairs and have never found fault with any of it! The nachos are delicious and the the Chilli is lush, My favourite is always the fish of the day - which is always devine and definately the best dish on the menu - no matter what it is!! The kids are always looked after really well and the staff go out of their way to be helpfull and are always friendly and polite, granted it can get very busy and they are quite often rushed off their feet, so do expect a wee wait. I would recommend the Dirty duck to all and advise you to prebook if you want the restaurant for an evening meal as it is always full up! In the summer time you have the option of relaxing in the beer garden, lapping up the sunshine and enjoying the view at the same time as filling your belly! Definately an A place to go, oh and the beer is good too!

Submitted by Anyabird on 02/01/2011

best chowder ever, great service

Submitted by sean on 06/08/2010

Thanks Jenny. It is now correct!

Submitted by NI Food Review on 26/04/2010

I assume the above link is not the correct website for the dirty duck?!?

Submitted by jenny on 26/04/2010

Been to the dirty duck on several previous occasions and never dissappointed. This time however was poor. Didn't get a chance to try anything as we were ignored by staff for 10 to 15 minutes and eventually left as the table beside us were offered menus and drinks after having just arrived. Poor and a ruined night as we spent an extra 25 minutes finding somewhere else to eat.

Submitted by Mark on 06/09/2009

I have never been disappointed with this restaurant. When we have visitors to Belfast we always take them here. Love it.

Submitted on 01/08/2009

I love this place, the food is fantastic. Not a great choice on the menu but the food is really tasty. The Dirty Duck also has a really nice friendly atmosphere inside. Def recommend!!!

Submitted on 14/07/2009

The food was excellent but the service was extremely poor. Three of the desert dishes on the menu were not available

Submitted by CG on 14/04/2009

We had a lovely Sunday lunch with my parents, who were particularly impressed, the service was excellent, the food was obviously home-cooked and tasty and we weren't charged over the top.

Husband and I went back thinking things couldn't be as good the next time, but I am more than happy to say that we were proved wrong. We hadn't booked at table, thinking Saturday lunch wouldn't be that busy, but we did have to wait, were continually updated when a table became available, then had the most delicious food imaginable.

They run a first class service, top notch food, but not with prices to match.

Maybe I shouldn't have said that .................. go for it while the going is cheap! Enjoy!!!!

Submitted by Fiona on 27/02/2009

When I,m home I always head to the duck for the squires smoker, best smoked fish I have ever had.

Submitted by gutbuster on 27/02/2009

The best meal I've ever had. I had the salmon which had a gorgeous pesto crust and it was delicious. Big portions of veg. My parents ordered the cod which was huge!

Great value for money and breath-taking scenery. The tap water which we ordered in a jug wasn't to my parents' liking, but that's probably just the taste of the local water...

Try it, the scenery is gorgeous, looking out over the sea...

10/10

Submitted by EB on 28/07/2008

good food very poor service

Submitted by sandra mackey on 22/07/2008

Excellent food for a reasonable price!

Submitted by Rebecca on 03/07/2008

we visited the Dirty duck in Oct. last year had a lot of good times with people there great at the outside bar

Submitted on 14/05/2008

You can add your own Review or edit the details of this page.