Del Toro

63 Reviews

Visited this restaurant twice absolutely fantastic service surroundings price and food all brilliant.



When it comes to steak, Del Toro serves only the finest cuts. They are aged for tenderness. Then, a very special blend of seasonings are added to lend a unique flavor while still allowing the natural properties of the high quality, well aged beef to be enjoyed to its fullest. This ensures that a tender, succulent, flavourful steak is guaranteed every time.

Last Updated on 28/07/2016 | Added 07/11/2009 | Edit Details | Edit Picture

Del Toro

Information and Contact Details

Web Site http://www.deltoro.co.uk
Category Restaurant
Sit In You can Sit-inYou can Sit-in
Take Away You can not takeaway foodYou can not takeaway food
Deliveries Provides DeliveriesNo home deliveries
Drive - Through There is no drive throughThere is no drive through
Address 19 Antrim Street
  Lisburn
  County Down
  Northern Ireland
  BT28 1AU
Phone Number 028 9266 8755
Email info@deltoro.co.uk

Street View of Del Toro

Map Showing the Location of Del Toro

Get Directions to Del Toro

Have you got Google Earth on your computer? If so, then download the Google Earth Map of Del Toro.

Is this the wrong position for Del Toro? If you think so, then modify its position.

Ratings

Various aspects that help rate a venue. Vote yourself, it only takes a second!

Quality of Food

end bar rating of Del Toro end bar 66/100 85 Votes

Value for Money

end bar rating of Del Toro end bar 56/100 84 Votes

Customer Service

end bar rating of Del Toro end bar 37/100 89 Votes

Overall

end bar rating of Del Toro end bar 67/100 83 Votes

Comments and Reviews on Del Toro

There now follows 63 other reviews of Del Toro

Have visited this restuarant on many occasions and have always found their food to be first class, especially their steaks. They are to die for!!The staff are so helpful and courteous, altogether a real pleasure to be there and I certainly hope my husband books me in for mothers day, Cant wait!

Submitted on 25/02/2013

Dreadful.

Valentines night rip off.

96 for two, a bit expensive I would suggest for a mediocre steak and duck and desserts had to be shared whether you liked the same option as your partner, or not!

The first steak was returned as it was still blue, and bizarrely for a 'restaurant of the year' they asked ME to check if it was cooked to my liking!

Service, food, setting less impressive than many of the local pub grills, way,way over priced.

Unfortunately, for this business's, their greed has resulted in a restaurant full of duped people, like me, who will spread the word.

Submitted by Ian on 14/02/2012

was here sat 7/12 with the wife chicen special amazing and aero cheesecake was the buisness, 3rd time here never found a fault!!

Submitted by craigg on 09/01/2012

My wife and I are regulars at Del Toro We went last night and as usual had a wonderful evening food top class friendly staff well worth going to we will continue to frequent this exciting restaurant

Submitted by Michael on 30/12/2011

I am a huge fan of Del Toro and find it most annoying to read some of these comments - i have been dining in the restaurant from the week it opened and i find it a pleasure, from the time i walk in until the time i leave - this restaurant was voted Best Restaurant in Northern Ireland for a reason and some of these people commenting need to maybe try and get out a bit more if this is all you have to say. I would just like to say myself my friends and my family love Del Toro and its fab food, and we will continue to support them. It is one of very few premises that has worked out and held their feet on the ground in Lisburn - so well done, be proud and keep up the good work :) - myself and my husband will continue to fly the Del Toro flag for you :)

Submitted by Kat on 09/11/2011

We first visited Del Toro yesterday evening. The food was good but the service very poor.

Despite arriving before 6 pm, at which time there were not too many diners, and despite there being plenty of staff on the floor, we had to ask twice for a jug of water; then, although a dessert menu was left with us, no-one came back to take an order.

We left without a dessert and did not leave a tip as we usually would.

Food good but service needs to improve.

Submitted by ann hamill on 03/09/2011

Del Toros gourmet night on Tuesday 14/6/11 was absolutely amazing. Seven courses with matching wine. Four of us went and we all really enjoyed it.

Del toro just goes from strength to strength Bronagh,Anton and their team deserve a massive round of applause

Submitted by Martina on 17/06/2011

My husband and I are regulars at Del Toro and lets face it if it was poor we wouldn't keep going

Had lunch there on Sunday 29th and as usual it was first class

keep up the good work

Submitted by Martina on 02/06/2011

My wife and I have been regulars at Del Toro for a year.

We don't understand the reviews that state the service is poor and food average. Can't help wondering what establishments the folk are eating in. Hard to imagine they are in Lisburn.

We give most of the restuarants in the town a 'turn', Del Torro is, in our view, the best for food, service, value for money and ambience.

You really do need to judge for yourself as the poor reviews don't reflect in any way our experience in the past year.

Submitted by Dennis on 24/05/2011

We booked for 9pm on a Friday eve, arrived on time and it took 45 mins for us to get a bread 'nibble'. After a further 40mins and no sign of any further food we left. No real appology, paid for what we had in full (wine, bread and one salad), no incentive to return. Del Toro perhaps a victim of its own success!!

Submitted by Jonathan on 14/05/2011

Was here for Sunday lunch and I must say the food was great, really tasty! Had the tomato soup to start and then the half roast stuffed chicken, very generous portions - great value for 15.

The staff were very welcoming and nothing was a problem for them. i had a look at their lunch menu while there and it looked fantastic - it had meals like chicken pie dinner, panini's and chips and goujon wrap and chips for around 6 - next time I'm out shopping in Lisburn i will definitely remember Del Toro!

Submitted by Mary on 05/05/2011

First time at Del Toro - for Sunday lunch - hadn't been before - but the family had presented us with a gift voucher at xmas and based on their recomendation thought it was time to use. I have to say I was completely bowled over, the staff were lovely and so welcoming. As regards the food I cant remember the last time I had such a tasty sunday roast. We dont eat out on a sunday often but if I did this would definately be the place I would choose

Submitted by Pat on 21/03/2011

Five of us visted saturday 19th wow

from start to finish service staff drinks food everything was just great

We have been many many times and always come home having had a fabulous night out

Must be one of the best restaurants in Ireland

Will continue to go as often as we can

Highly recommended

Submitted by Martina on 21/03/2011

Returned last night for about the sixth time and certainly was not disappointed. Greeted as usual by a very friendly staff member and ushered to our seats. I chose the duck pancakes which were absolutely delicious followed by a rib-eye steak. Talk about mouth watering wow!!My husband son and daughter in law accompanied us and were all equally impressed. This resturant most certainly wins my vote in the taste of Ulster awards a No1 all the way

Submitted by kathleen on 20/03/2011

We regularly dine in Del Toro and are always impressed with the excellent food

Submitted by Sean on 17/03/2011

My wife myself and two friends were here on Saturday 5th March service was excellent decor wow and as for the food well all I can say is just amazing. We have been many times before and will continue to support such a high class establishment

Good show.

Submitted by Michael on 09/03/2011

the FIRST time ever in the world and we have travelled a lot ,we were asked to cut our steaks to check if it was done as we (my wife and I ) liked it service brilliant ,polite and speedy, food excelent as with previous review I thought Antrim st among other fast food places not quite the right place ,BUT WAS I WRONG? YES! excellent will return

Submitted by Stevie on 20/01/2011

3 of us went to dinner on sat 8/01/11 all i can say is wow great atmosphere great service and the food was to die for really love Del Toro keep up the good work

Submitted by Martina on 11/01/2011

We held our works x-mas party at the Del Toro on the 11th Dec, and have been customers of Bronagh and anthony for some time, knowing the high standard of service and food we recieve time after time, i can only think that people who put poisoned remarks on this review, should first think of the frame of mind they leave home in before any visit to any customer service based business.

running our own businesss ourselves, (not food) we also come into contact with members of the public who have had a bad day or have furnished us with the wrong documentation and because we choose to serve you the public we become targets for venting such angers,

Submitted by sam on 02/01/2011

Myself and my husband recently dined at this venue on sat 18th dec after hearing such great reports and reviews we decided to sample it for ourselves.I was not impressed !

When we arrived we could see that it was quite busy but we had booked for 7.30 i did expect to be seated within 5 minutes of arrival however that was not the case after 15 minutes we were shown to our table and had to wait a further 20 minutes for our food and drink order to be taken then it took almost 15 minutes for the drinks to arrive at the table. Shortly after we ordered our food a large party arrived presumably an xmas work dinner and guess what ,they were seated within 5 minutes they had their drinks order taken immediately then thier food was quickly brought to thier table before our starters had arrived in fact they had finished thier starters and ours still hadnt arrived .eventully the starters did arrive at our table and the waitress basiclly threw down the plates and stormed off .''starters were average'' nothing worth shouting about. So the table was cleared and after another wait of 20 mins and another large table arriving our main courses arrived by this time i wanted to get up and leave but my husband decided we should stay, so again plates threw down in front of us by the same waitress and again away she stormed . Again'' nothing worth shouting about '' when we had finished we were asked if we would like a dessert menu ??? I did state when we arrived and the order was taken we would be having the three courses of the xmas menu . Then it got worse when the deserts came to the table it looked as if they were lying for a few days and they didnt taste much better they were horrendous after confronting the waitress who i later learned was the manager on duty she did after some coaxing agree to refund the cost of one of the deserts . All in all the night as a whole was a terrible experience, costomer service was a joke and the food was shocking not to mention the price .Im sorry but this place needs to improve if it dosnt i cant see it making an impact on the restraunt trade in lisburn ..

Submitted by joan on 21/12/2010

My husband ,my sister and I had lunch here yesterday lovely mushroom soup and my chicken was heavenly My husband had roast beef and all the trimmings he was delighted My sisters lamb was excellent no room for dessert Will keep going back as we are never disappointed by Del Toro

Submitted by Martina on 18/10/2010

Was in for an express lunch yesterday and I hace to say my friends and I found the food wonderful and so reasonable too. 5.95 for a gourmet lunch. The decor was so warm and homely, and the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Honestly could not find one complaint!!

Next girlie day out we will be back!!

Submitted by Denise on 28/09/2010

I had never eaten in Del Torro until last night when 10 of my friends went there for another friends birthday. The welcome was very friendly and professional, we were shown to our table very quickly and the staff were very polite. The service was outstanding! They had a full restaraunt and only 3 staff but it did not show. Service was quick and professional, yet friendly and welcomming.

The food was outsatnding, I had the cod, which was lovely but other frinds had the steak, which I have to say that I am not overly keen on but that was outstanding to the point that I was jealous!

Highly recommend it!

Submitted by Sean on 24/08/2010

I've eaten in Del Torro on four occasions.

The food has been first class everytime.

The early bird price works out cheaper than Premier Inn!!

I've also taken friends who have more than impressed with (a) decor (b) food (c) service (d) value for money.

Excellent....lovely to have a truly good eating establishment in Lisburn.

Submitted by Moya on 28/07/2010

Six of us recently travelled a distance to have dinner at Del Toro which was well worth the journey! Our greeting was very welcoming and the service was excellent. I ordered my steak rare and often when I do I never get it cooked to my liking but on this occasion it was perfect. When I asked the waiter his advice on the sauces he was very helpful and encouraged me to try a sauce I wouldn't normally order - it was delicious! My husband had fish and is still talking about how delicious it was. The wine list was excellent and we all enjoyed a few glasses. We had a great nite and will definately be back later in the year. Congratulations Del Toro!

Submitted by Liz on 27/06/2010

I booked a table for four. On arrival we were given a very poor greeting, waitress behind the reception desk was too busy checking her mobile phone! However we were shown quite quickly to our table, drinks ordered and food order taken.

The decor inside is really beautiful and it had a nice atmosphere. Our food was exceptional however the waitress service was very disappointing. The girl serving our table didn't seem to have any skill or experience. She was very unstable holding the drinks tray and glasses and plates were set down heavily in front of you. There were only three floor staff on duty, one behind the bar and two on the floor. I felt they were very short staffed and just before 9pm, one guy finished is shift and went home, exiting the restaurant at a very busy time, hugging another fellow waitress and leaving in full view of all the customers still waiting to be served! Very unprofessional.

We all had a main course, sweets, one beer and soft drinks and the total bill was 110. Excellent food and Lisburn certainly needs a good restaurant, however for this price I think I would choose a eating house with a better location than Antrim Street. Just to give you an indication on pricing, we ate recently at Pier 36 in Donagadee, we all had starters , main courses and sweets and the bill totalled 75.00 and the food was amazing.

Good food but very expensive. Del Toro a restaurant that you couldn't afford to go to regularly!

Submitted by Roberta on 24/06/2010

4 of us went to Del Toro on Saturday 29/05 we had gorgeous cocktails and the food and service were first class

Our friends had travelled from Greenisland just to see for themselves what it was like

They were not disappointed Scallops yummy and Duck to die for

Keep up the good work

Submitted by Martina on 01/06/2010

My husband and I recently visited Del Toro on Saturday 15th May, and we were extremely impressed with EVERYTHING..... Service staff were very welcoming, and answered all questions we had regarding the food and wine...our waiteress was able to inform us on the new menu that is going to be launched in the coming weeks!! sounds fab!!!

As for the food, OUT OF THIS WORLD... credit to the Chefs!!! i never left a bit... we had Wild Mushroom

Submitted by Paula on 17/05/2010

Very disappointed in our second visit to Del Toro, to cut along story short our main course was served to the table behind us, and on discovery brought into the kitchen and reserved to us.

The waiter tried to deny this saying "no honestly the chef says its ok", I had heard the same waiter ask the man behind me had he touched the food, when he said no he said "that will be okay then". The manageress who was too helpful when we arrived was nowhere to be seen at this stage.

I am sorry I accepted the steak as it wasn't cooked how I ordered and was warm not hot. I'm just sorry I didn't make a bigger fuss at the time but last night we just wanted our dinner and to leave.

A waste of ?57 pounds, and that was EARLY BIRD prices for 4 soft drinks, 2 warm starters,

Submitted by Amanda on 15/05/2010

first time in restaurant last week-have to say was very surprised, the decor is very warm and welcoming and cosy. The food was first class as were all the staff - very attentive and well mannered. Good to see a 1st class food venue in the vicinity... well done to Del Toro!!!

Submitted by claire on 14/05/2010

went for a meal on Saturday night group of 4

Del toros is one of the cleanest eating houses i have been in spotless and the decor is so relaxing the candles and fresh flowers make the place.

Down to the food i ordered ribs for starters never had ribs like them melt in your mouth and the sauce was nothing like i have ever tasted before so nice, i then had the fillet steak and chips and i am not joking on this one its the best steak i have ever had cooked exactly the way i asked and the taste was wonderful. The staff were so helpful giving advice on menu when asked and they could not do enough for us and we all enjoyed the food so much will be back and as for the price well you get what you pay for real good food and service well done Del toros

Submitted by tess on 10/05/2010

My husband and I went on Friday night. I have to say the steak was lovely and tender. However the accompanying pepper sauce was horrible! It was more like a kind of mayo with peppercorns in and I was very dissapointed. I would also agree with comments that it is overpriced I ended up paying well over ?20 for my steak as you have to pay extra for sauce and sides and I think ?3 for a soft drink is very pricey! I would consider going back but only for the earlybird menu or perhaps lunch.

Submitted by Julie on 03/05/2010

been to del toro twice now and it has to be one of the best if not thee best restaurant in lisburn with excellent customer service!! well done.

Submitted on 30/04/2010

I was there on tuesday 27,04,10 my self and my husband first impressions were great we were quickly greeted and seated we then proceeded to order our drinks , which were promptly delivered to our table ,the waiter then took our food order which was the usual starters and main courses the starters were fantastic.Its a pity i couldnt say the same about the mains which were steaks my steak was covered in oil ,tough and cold the vegetables were unedible .The waitress then came to clear the table and i confronted her about the poor quality of the food , i was then made to feel as if it was my own poor tastes , she then continued to be verbally abusive towards me making the assumption that i was looking foor a free meal . Basicilly the food was poor and the costomer service was applalling .I had this restraunt reccomened to me by three different friends god only knows what they seen in this place ..I for one will be back .

Submitted on 28/04/2010

Just Gorgeous..

Submitted by Mrs Keery on 13/04/2010

Well what can i say.... OUTSTANDING!! We were made to feel very welcome by the host on our arrival,no hangng about!! The Steak was melt in your mouth, and the seabass was just delightful, the atmosphere was superb, the staff were so friendly and i can honestly say one of the best meals i have had!! So thank you for a splendid visit. I hope everyone reading this gives it a go!!

Submitted by Jane on 13/04/2010

i love the meat very tender its hard to beat a bit of steak

Submitted by miss growler on 20/03/2010

my son took me yesterday, i thought it was a bit expensive when ordering the steak as you have to pay extra for chips and sauces so a ribeye steak cost me over 20quid. but in saying that when the food came it was absolutely melt in your mouth. the decor and surroundings were really relaxing and the staff were really friendly. if your looking for a steakhouse in lisburn this is defo the place to go and we will definately be returning

Submitted by hayley on 20/03/2010

I haven't been to Del Toro and keep meaning to but one thing that's off putting is the fact that there's no menu on the website, I like to know a ball park figure of how much a place will cost to eat in as well as a rough idea of the menu before I go... why no menu?

Submitted by John Ferris on 13/03/2010

Best steak i have ever eaten, staff were excellent. The decor is very nice and clean.Will definitely go back.

Submitted by Roy Matthews on 08/03/2010

6th time to del toro, you would think after this amount of visits i could find even the smallest of faults.its consistency in turning out great food deserves industry notification.

Submitted by sam willoughby on 07/03/2010

Fantastic to have such a good restaurant in Lisburn, easy parking, great food and friendly staff' I hope it encourages more good restauranteurs to open premises in Lisburn

Submitted by Liam Parker on 04/03/2010

Hi i was here last night and must say everything was excellent trom the minute we walked in the door to the time we lefted.

Bronagh and her staff were very pleasent and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.

I had ribs for starters and t bone for mains then apple crumble for dssert.

My friend had soup for starters fillet for main and cheese cake for dessert.

We did not have 1 complaint

I checked out the toilets and found them to be spotless i always check tthis before i eat at a nrew place.

I read the reveiws before i went and was nearly put off when someone said about London prices, i am so glad i went the person who wrote this must bot get out to much i found it to be well priced.

Just want to say well done to Bronagh her staff and the people in the kitchen and i look forward to going back.

Submitted by M r Coogan on 21/02/2010

Have been to Del Toro twice now, can honestly say , a great meal, no rush very friendly, on my second visit they rememberd us and wecomed us back, the scallops were fantastic, the squid was the same, would like to see more tapas on the menu

all in all, well done keep it up 5*

Submitted by Sam Willoughby on 04/02/2010

What Lisburn needed - a great restaurant. Food, staff and service is of the highest standard. Steaks are the best I have had in a long time. Well done Del Toro.

Submitted by Anne on 29/01/2010

Staff very friendly and attentive. Food very good quality and buzzing atmosphere. A little pricey but good for a special treat. Would like to try the early bird menu.

Submitted by Simone on 27/01/2010

i would not recommend this restaurant.service was very slow and food tastless.both scampi and wedges clearly just out of frozen packet.i will not be back.

Submitted by stephen on 10/01/2010

Very good, Lisburn is crying out for places like this. Great food, friendly and attentive staff, and reasonable prices (you get what you pay for) make this my favourite in Lisburn. Long may it continue.

Submitted on 06/01/2010

Went for 1st time on a Monday night after Xmas as nowhere else serves food on a Monday in Lisburn. Had never heard of this place before, so was going in open minded. OMG - so lovely inside! We hadn't booked so had to wait a few minutes as there were 4 and a baby. I am fussy when it comes to eating out and usually go for veg option. Had Goats Cheese Chiabatta for starters - delicious! Decided on Chargrilled Chicken and noodles for main course - again delicious! I loved everthing about it! The rest of my party had steaks and all loved them. My Father-In-Law is hard to please when it comes to steaks and he really enjoyed his! I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family not only for the delicious food, but also the friendly welcoming staff.

Submitted by Kerry on 05/01/2010

to dear and wheaten bread was not nice.

Submitted by barry on 04/01/2010

Have been about 4 times for lunch. The food is excellent

Submitted by Annette on 30/12/2009

Very pleasant food, excellent staff, a little pricey but very enjoyable.

Submitted by Catherine on 29/12/2009

A friendly, relaxing and inviting atmosphere. The food was absolutely delicious, plentyful and very reasonably prized. The decor is of the highest standard and the staff are courteous and extremely helpful. I would strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great night out.

Submitted by Angela on 20/12/2009

was pleasantly surprised by this new restaurant - menu was excellent, really varied selection even though its a steak house. Lovely warm atmosphere and very attentive staff at hand. My wife and I eat out at least once a week and I have to give credit where its due - 5 out of 5 all round! Good for you guys!!

Submitted on 16/12/2009

average!

Submitted by claire on 16/12/2009

Food is of an excellent standard, staff are knowledgeable and attentive and the atmosphere that has been created is just perfect. What more could you ask for? Just what is needed in Lisburn.

Submitted by R on 08/12/2009

We arrived 10 minutes before last orders, but were still made to feel very welcome. The staff were superb and very attentive. Our food was delicious, with our only slight gripe that the sauces were a little cold. We were offered desserts, coffees etc and never rushed once. I thought the food was well priced, superb quality and could be compared to the best anywhere. At last, we are getting a good range of excellent eating houses in Lisburn!

Submitted by Ken on 28/11/2009

Steak was beautiful, but too price to go often.

Submitted by Lynda on 27/11/2009

Food was average and the price is a joke. Its Lisburn not the centre of London!!!!

Submitted by Mr Gregg on 26/11/2009

Highly recommend this restaurant. Great to see some life in Lisburn after dark. Burgers to die for!!!

Submitted on 25/11/2009

Have been for lunch and dinner on a few occasions to Del Toro and would really recommend it. It's in a great location with plenty of parking close by. The restaurant itself is lovely with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. The food was superb and on each occasion I ordered a different dish and was not disappointed. Would have no hesitation to recommend it for a great night out!

Submitted by Mary on 25/11/2009

Have been 3 times since it opened and it was fantastic every time. Pleasant staff lovely surroundings and the steaks were amazing. Tried the Rose Veal highly recommended

Submitted by Martina on 24/11/2009

Went to this restaurant last night for a meal as I have heard good reviews, and I have to say the food was beautiful!! I had the prawn

Submitted on 20/11/2009

You can add your own Review or edit the details of this page.